Skip to content

Löwenstein, Ida and Julius

Poststr. 18

Except for a few archival data and a short mention in a letter we were not able to find out much about the lives of the married couple Ida and Julius Löwenstein. But that does not keep us from remembering them and at least to deal with the circumstances under which they lived.
They both came from families with many children, and both of their fathers were merchants. The parents of Julius were Heinrich Löwenstein and Sophie, née Liebmann. Julius was born on May 29, 1868 in Göppingen, followed by two brothers and two sisters. His father was the owner of a grain business which had been founded by Julius’ grandfather in 1867 in Jebenhausen. The business was moved to Göppingen already during the following year. In 1870 Heinrich Löwenstein bought the building at Poststraße 18 which had been built in 1856 by Gottlieb Braun, a butcher. It housed the living quarters as well as the business of the Löwenstein family.

Ida Löwenstein, née Gunz, was born on May 25, 1875 in Augsburg. Her parents were Nathan Gunz, a merchant, and Wilhelmina (Mina), née Feist. Nathan had a leather business in the Fugger house in Augsburg.
She was the fifth of six siblings; she had three brothers and two sisters. Salomon Gunz, her father’s brother, was a banker in Augsburg. He and his wife had seven children, five daughters and two sons. Therefore Ida was surrounded by many children. Augsburg had a big Jewish community and from 1913 to 1917 a large synagogue was built which survived the Pogrom Night in 1938 with only slight damage. After World War II it was restored and today it is one of the most beautiful synagogues in Europe. This is being mentioned to give an idea of the self-confidence Jewish people felt prior to World War I.

The synagogue in Augsburg

The date of Julius and Ida Löwenstein’s wedding is the next piece of information which we could find. On March 8, 1900 they were married in Augsburg. Julius was the oldest of five siblings and worked as a partner in his father’s business. That is why the young couple had found a residence in Göppingen; their first home was at Marktstraße 27. They moved twice before moving into the parental house in the years between 1924 and 1927 at Poststraße 18. Julius’ father died in 1916 already, his mother 1922. Julius was now the sole owner of the business.

right background: Nathan Gunz (Ida's brother) right foreground: his wife Else. The man and woman on the left are probably Julius and Ida Löwenstein

The couple remained childless. We do not know how they lived, with whom they associated, and what their interests were. They had relatives in Göppingen. Julius’ sister was Selma Hilb, the wife of Emil Hilb, who was a merchant and manufacturer of mattress covering fabrics. In 2012 we installed a Stumbling Stone for him and his family in the Frühlingsstraße. Albert Löwenstein, a brother of Julius, was married to Gisela, née Dörzbacher and had moved at the beginning of the 1930s his grocery store from Kirchstraße 31 to Geislinger Straße 6. Ida’s cousin Amalie lived in Göppingen too and was married to Ludwig Eisig, son of a factory owner. In 1936 Amalie and Ludwig emigrated to Switzerland and later to San Francisco. Amalie Eisig was related to Hedwig Frankfurter (see Stumbling Stone biography).

It can be assumed that the local Jewish families of Göppingen knew each other and that many of them were related to each other. In June 1933 Ida and Julius Löwenstein moved to the ‘Wilhelmsruhe’, a Jewish senior citizens home in Sontheim near Heilbronn. We do not know what led to this. Was it on pressure that forced them or was it a decision they made of their own free will? Did the grain business in the industrial city of Göppingen have out-dated?
Julius was 65 years old, Ida was 58. Hitler had come to power half a year before that and immediately afterwards the boycott measures and defamation of Jewish citizens started. It is understandable that under these dangerous prospects for the future they might have preferred to withdraw from an active life and to be among their own people. In 1934 Julius Löwenstein sold his house to his brother-in-law Emil Hilb.

The Senior Citizens Home 'Wilhelmsruhe' in Sontheim
Sontheim, today a part of Heilbronn, was a community with Jewish traditions dating back centuries. When the Löwenstein´s moved in 1933 to the senior citizens home ‘Wilhelmsruhe‘ in Sontheim, it still would have been considered a respectable location. It had been built in 1907 according to plans drawn up by two Stuttgart architects in a combination of baroque and art nouveau styles. It was planned to house 32 people in 20 single- and six double rooms. There was a reading room, a dining- and a prayer room which had been a special gem. There were two medical directors, Dr.  Willy Flegenheimer and Dr. Julius Picard. At that time it was not unusual that the German emperor’s name was chosen as the name of the home. Citizens of the Jewish faith considered themselves German - just like those of the Protestant or Catholic faiths. The denomination did not have to be specifically listed on the applications and conditions for admission. The home was considered a residence for “old Württemberg citizens who were no longer able to earn a living, in exceptional cases also for ‘Reichsdeutsche’ (Germans from other parts of German Reich) or foreigners.”

In 1932 open verandas at the back of the building were converted into rooms so that 48 persons could now be housed there. In the years 1936/37 another expansion took place which created an additional 30 single rooms. For most people the acceptance at ‘Wilhelmsruhe’ was probably at first a relief. Because we know of no personal statements the Löwenstein´s supposedly made, a statement by another resident from Göppingen will be used instead. Bertha Tänzer (see Stumbling Stone biography), wife of the Rabbi Aron Tänzer, who deceased in 1937, wrote the following in December 1937: “I am glad to have everything behind me, and, God willing, will be able to live in peace and quiet.” She felt comfortable in her “cosy little room” and considered the refined atmosphere as protection from “the rough outside world.” Unfortunately this peaceful time came quickly to an end. The pressure to accept more residents increased rapidly, and in 1938 one hundred old people were living at the home.
Berta Tänzer wrote to her son in October: “Here is no place for young people any longer, everything is becoming more MISERABLE.”

During the Pogrom Night of November 9/10 or during the following day the residents of the home witnessed terrible events. Sister Johanna Gottschalk, the home’s director, and a non-Jewish staff member shared their memories years later: nine or ten men knocked down the front door with hammers and axes then demanded that the director should turn over all cameras; after that they cut the telephone lines and proceeded systematically from floor to floor to smash furniture, dishes and wash basins. The next morning not a single window was left intact; groceries and about 300 jars of preserves were dumped into a heap and all lamps and light switches were demolished. During the following days the residents were subjected to gawkers who enjoyed seeing the destruction and took photos of it.

After the November Pogrom the residents were harassed even more, because a Rabbi was no longer allowed to officiate at religious services in the home. The residents took matters into their own hands and conducted the services themselves. Bertha Tänzer was one of those who volunteered.

Following the start of the war in 1939 ‘Wilhelmsruhe’ became the destination for Jewish refugees from the Palatine and Saar regions. In mid-November 1940 the crowded building had to be cleared by order of the NS-Kreisleiter (Nazi county administrator) in charge. It was supposedly needed for ethnic Germans from the Eastern regions who were “being brought home into the Reich.” A portion of the Jewish residents of the home were relocated to the house of Max Picard, the Jewish doctor who emigrated himself one month later. The remaining residents were split up among other Jewish senior citizens homes in Württemberg or had to find a place to live in their former hometowns.

Hedwig Frankfurter, who was mentioned earlier and who was a distant relative of Julius Löwenstein, wrote in a letter on June 29, 1941 that the Löwensteins stayed in Sontheim and were able to move to the house of Dr. Picard. Hedwig wrote to Amalie Eisig in Switzerland on 29 of June 1941: “Your cousin Ida and her husband are living in the house of a doctor here in town together with about 14 other pensioners. Julius was fallen very ill, recently very seriously, but seems to be doing better now.”
In another letter dated September 3, 1941 Hedwig listed the names of Jewish people from Göppingen who had become impoverished, and among them she named the Löwenstein´s. It is not known who took care of the sick after the departure of Dr. Picard. The last doctor who began taking care of ill residents in January 1942 committed suicide on April 23, 1942, probably because he feared deportation. Julius Löwenstein died on November 2, 1941. He was buried in the Jewish cemetery in Sontheim, but no tombstone exists. It is possible that nobody could take care of this, because of the upheavals taking place during that time and because no funds were available.

Ida continued to live in the Picard house. On August 20, 1942 she and the remaining residents were deported via Stuttgart to Theresienstadt Ghetto Concentration Camp.
Neighbours observed when the transport was assembled “there were many tears and farewell scenes. The last residents of the home were loaded onto a simple wagon and a Miss Israel, who was unable to walk or was paralyzed, was lifted on a stretcher onto the wagon.” A man was beaten because a pair of nail scissors was found in his luggage. The reason for the deportation given was "re-settlement in the east".

An especially cruel action by the Nazi-regime against the old people was instituting “Home sale contracts”. In these contracts it was suggested that they would be paying for life-long housing, living assistance and being taken care of when sick - and that this would take place in appropriate establishments for old people. The costs were calculated for a life expectancy of 85 years and could be paid in cash or securities. If they refused to sign such a home sale contract they were threatened with forced labour or deportation. Starting on July 1, 1941 all existing contracts had to be converted into home sale contracts by order of the Nazi-regime. The well-to-do residents of the senior citizens home were forced to finance the support for the ones who were indigent as well. The minimum amount for new admissions was RM 11,000. We do not know if these contracts were recognized by the residents as the fraud they were, or if they represented a last hope for them.
Ida Löwenstein’s last fateful journey on which she was taken with the remaining residents of the Sontheim senior citizens home ended on September 29, 1942 at the Treblinka extermination camp after they had been interned for one month in the Theresienstadt Ghetto. The date of her death is not known.

Many relatives of the Gunz and Löwenstein families were murdered in German Ghettos and Extermination Camps:
Ida Löwenstein's brother Nathan Gunz with his wife Else, who were living in Munich, were deported to Kaunas on November 20, 1941 and murdered on November 25, 1941.


Else Gunz / Nathan Gunz

One cousin of Ida, Hedwig Epstein, née Gunz, who lived in Augsburg, was deported to Theresienstadt on 5th of August 1943 and died under the murderous conditions on 28th of March 1944.

Another cousin of Ida, Irene Gumprich, née Gunz, who was living in Schmalkalden, was deported to Theresienstadt on April 19, 1943, murdered on February 29, 1944.

Yet another cousin, Rosa Schnell, née Gunz, living in Augsburg, were deported together with her husband Hermann Schnell on July 23, 1942 to Theresienstadt. Rosa died on October 23, 1942; Hermann’s life ended on December 17, 1942.


Rosa Schnell / Hermann Schnell

Julius' sister Hedwig Hirsch, née Löwenstein, staying in Munich as well, was together with her husband Heinrich deported to Theresienstadt on June 25, 1942. She was murdered on August 22, 1942. Heinrich died on January 19, 1943.


Hedwig Hirsch / Heinrich Hirsch

Julius' brother Wilhelm Löwenstein, who lived in Stuttgart, was deported in August 1942 to Theresienstadt and murdered on March 26, 1943.
His brother-in-law Emil Hilb, coming out of Göppingen, was deported on August 22, 1942 to Theresienstadt, from there to Treblinka on September 29, 1942 (see Stumbling Stone biography).

The house that was once located in Poststr. 18
Poststraße 18 today

 On May 16, 2014 Gunter Demnig installed a Stumbling Stone in memory of Ida and Julius Löwenstein at the location where their former house had stood. Out of the family Gunz Ida´s grandnephew Andrew Gunz and his wife Barbara came to visit for this occasion all the way from England, taking active part on the ceremony.

Andrew und Barbara Gunz


(21.04. 2014 fw/feb. 2017 ir)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Springe zum Inhalt

Löwenstein, Ida und Julius

Poststr.18


Außer ein paar Archivdaten und einer Erwähnung in einem Brief konnten wir vom Leben des Ehepaars Julius und Ida Löwenstein nichts mehr ermitteln. Das soll uns aber nicht hindern ihrer zu gedenken und zumindest auf die Umstände einzugehen, unter denen sie lebten. Beide entstammen kinderreichen Familien, und beider Väter waren Kaufmann von Beruf. Die Eltern von Julius waren Heinrich Löwenstein und Sophie geb. Liebmann. Julius wurde am 29. Mai 1868 in Göppingen geboren, ihm folgten noch zwei Brüder und zwei Schwestern. Sein Vater war Inhaber einer Getreidehandlung, die Julius' Großvater 1867 in Jebenhausen gegründet hatte. Schon ein Jahr später wurde sie nach Göppingen verlegt. 1870 erwarb Heinrich Löwenstein das Haus Poststraße 18, das 1856 vom Metzgermeister Gottlieb Braun erbaut worden war. Es beherbergte die Wohnung und das Geschäft der Familie Löwenstein.

Ida Löwenstein geb. Gunz wurde am 25. Mai 1875 in Augsburg geboren. Ihre Eltern waren der Kaufmann Nathan Gunz und Wilhelmine (Mina) geborene Feist. Nathan betrieb in Augsburg im Fuggerhaus eine Lederhandlung. Ida war das fünfte von sechs Geschwistern, sie hatte drei Brüder und zwei Schwestern. Ein Bruder ihres Vaters, Salomon Gunz, war Bankier in Augsburg. Er hatte mit seiner Frau sieben Kinder, fünf Töchter und zwei Söhne. Um Ida herum gab es also viele Kinder. Augsburg hatte eine große jüdische Gemeinde und baute in den Jahren 1913 bis 1917 eine große Synagoge, die wenig beschädigt die Pogromnacht 1938 überstand, nach dem 2. Weltkrieg wiederhergestellt wurde und heute zu den schönsten in Europa zählt. Dies sei erwähnt als Hinweis auf ein selbstbewusstes Judentum in Augsburg.

Synagoge in Augsburg

Das nächste was wir von Julius und Ida wissen, ist das Datum ihrer Hochzeit: Am 8. März 1900 heirateten sie in Augsburg. Julius war als ältester von fünf Geschwistern und Mitarbeiter sowie Teilhaber der väterlichen Firma. Das junge Paar musste also in Göppingen seinen Wohnsitz nehmen und fand in der Marktstraße 27 seine erste Bleibe. Zwei Mal zogen sie noch um, ehe sie zwischen 1924 und 1927 die elterliche Wohnung in der Poststraße 18 bezogen, schon 1916 war Julius' Vater gestorben, 1922 seine Mutter. Julius war nun Alleininhaber des Geschäfts.

(hinten rechts ) Nathan Gunz (Idas Bruder) mit Ehefrau (Else vorne rechts) Wahrscheinlich links das Ehepaar Julius (hinten links) und Ida Löwenstein (vorne links)
(hinten rechts ) Nathan Gunz (Idas Bruder) mit Ehefrau (Else vorne rechts) Wahrscheinlich links das Ehepaar Julius (hinten links) und Ida Löwenstein (vorne links)

Das Ehepaar blieb kinderlos. Wie sie lebten, mit wem sie verkehrten, was für Interessen sie pflegten, das wissen wir alles nicht. Es gab Verwandtschaft in Göppingen. Eine Schwester von Julius war Selma Hilb, die Frau des Kaufmanns und Matratzenstoffherstellers Emil Hilb, für ihn und seine Familie legten wir 2012 einen Stolperstein in der Frühlingstraße. Ein Bruder von Julius, Albert Löwenstein war mit Gisela geb. Dörzbacher verheiratet, die Anfang der 30ger Jahre seine Kolonialwarenhandlung von der Kirchstraße 31 in die Geislinger Str. 6 verlegte. Idas Cousine Amalie lebte ebenfalls in Göppingen und war mit dem Fabrikantensohn Ludwig Eisig verheiratet. Sie emigrierten 1936 in die Schweiz und später nach San Fransisco. Amalie Eisig war wiederum mit Hedwig Frankfurter (siehe Stolperstein-Biografie) verschwägert. Es ist anzunehmen, dass sich die eingesessenen jüdischen Familien in Göppingen alle kannten, vielfach waren sie miteinander verwandt.
Im Juni 1933 übersiedelte das Ehepaar Löwenstein in das jüdische Altersheim ‚Wilhelmsruhe’ nach Sontheim bei Heilbronn. Was sie zu diesem Schritt veranlasst hatte, wissen nicht. War es Druck von außen, war es eine freiwillige Entscheidung? Hatte sich die Getreidehandlung in der Industriestadt Göppingen überlebt? Julius war 65 Jahre alt, Ida 58. Ein halbes Jahr zuvor hatte Hitler die Macht erhalten, unmittelbar danach begannen die Boykottmaßnahmen und Diffamierungen gegen Juden. Der Wunsch, sich unter diesen bedrohlichen Zukunftsaussichten aus dem aktiven Leben zurückzuziehen und unter ihresgleichen zu sein, wäre jedenfalls verständlich. Sein Haus verkaufte Julius Löwenstein 1934 an seinen Schwager Emil Hilb.

Das Altersheim ‚Wilhelmsruhe’ in Sontheim

Altersheim "Wilhelmsruhe"

Sontheim, das heute ein Stadtteil von Heilbronn ist, war eine Gemeinde mit einer jahrhundertealten jüdischen Tradition. Als das Ehepaar Löwenstein 1933 in das dortige Altersheim ‚Wilhelmsruhe’ zog, dürfte es noch eine gute Adresse gewesen sein. Es wurde 1907 erbaut nach Entwürfen zweier Stuttgarter Architekten in einer Mischung aus Barock- und Jugendstil. Geplant war es für 32 Personen mit 20 Einzel- und sechs Doppelzimmern. Darüber hinaus gab es ein Lesezimmer, einen Speise- und einen Betsaal, der ein besonderes Schmuckstück gewesen sein soll. Es gab zwei ärztliche Leiter, Dr. Willy Flegenheimer und Dr. Julius Picard. Dass man für dieses Haus den Namen des deutschen Kaisers gewählt hatte, schien damals nicht außergewöhnlich. Die Bürger jüdischen Glaubens fühlten sich als Deutsche mit einer Konfession wie evangelisch oder katholisch, die man in den Aufnahmebedingungen nicht eigens erwähnen musste. Gedacht war das Haus für „erwerbsunfähige alte Württemberger, in Ausnahmefällen Reichsdeutsche oder Ausländer".

1932 baute man die offenen Veranden auf der Rückseite des Hauses zu Zimmern um, so dass man nun 48 Personen aufnehmen konnte. In den Jahren 1936/37 erfolgte einen abermalige Erweiterung, die 30 neue Einzelzimmer erbrachte. Wahrscheinlich war die Aufnahme in der ‚Wilhelmsruhe’ für die meisten Menschen zunächst eine Erleichterung. Da vom Ehepaar Löwenstein keine persönlichen Äußerungen bekannt sind, soll stellvertretend für sie eine andere Bewohnerin aus Göppingen zitiert werden, Bertha Tänzer (siehe Stolperstein-Biografie), die Frau, des kurz zuvor verstorbenen Rabbiners Aron Tänzer. Sie schrieb im Dezember 1937: „Ich bin froh, dass ich alles hinter mir habe, und so Gott will, in Ruhe und Frieden leben kann.“ Sie fühlte sich wohl in ihrem „behaglichen Stübchen" und empfand die gepflegte Atmosphäre als Schutzraum vor „einer solchen rauen Außenwelt". Leider ging diese Periode schnell zu Ende. Der Aufnahmedruck stieg rapide an, 1938 lebten ca. 100 alte Leute im Heim. Im Oktober schrieb Bertha Tänzer an ihren Sohn „hier ist für junge Leute keines Bleibens mehr, hier wird alles immer MIESER."

In der Pogromnacht vom 9./10.November 1938 oder am Tag danach erlebten die Bewohner furchtbare Szenen. Die Heimleiterin, Schwester Johanna Gottschalk und eine nichtjüdische Mitarbeiterin berichteten Jahre danach aus der Erinnerung, dass 9 oder 10 Männer mit Hämmern und Beilen die Haustüre einschlugen, dann von der Leiterin die Herausgabe sämtlicher Fotoapparate verlangten, anschließend die Telefonkabel durchschnitten, und sich dann, systematisch Stockwerk für Stockwerk, an die Zerstörung von Mobiliar, Geschirr und Waschbecken machten. Am nächsten Morgen sei kein Fenster mehr heil gewesen, die Lebensmittel, sowie etwa 300 Einmachgläser habe man auf einen Haufen geschüttet, sämtliche Lampen und Lichtschalter demoliert. In den Tagen danach mussten sich die Bewohner noch Besuche von Schaulustigen gefallen lassen, die sich an den Zerstörungen weideten und sie fotografierten.

Zu den weiteren Schikanen nach dem Novemberpogrom gehörte, dass für die Gottesdienste im Heim kein Rabbiner mehr zur Verfügung stand. Die Bewohner griffen zur Selbsthilfe und nahmen die Gestaltung der Gottesdienste in die eigene Hand. Unter den Namen, die dafür bereit waren, findet sich der von Bertha Tänzer.

Nach Kriegsbeginn 1939 wurde die ‚Wilhemsruhe’ Zuflucht jüdischer Flüchtlinge aus der Pfalz und dem Saarland. Mitte November 1940 musste das überfüllte Haus auf Anordnung des zuständigen NS - Kreisleiters geräumt werden. Man benötigte es für die 'heim ins Reich' geholten Volksdeutschen aus den Ostgebieten. Ein Teil der jüdischen Bewohner wurde im Haus des jüdischen Arztes Max Picard untergebracht, der selbst einen Monat später auswanderte. Die übrigen Bewohner wurden auf andere jüdische Altersheime in Württemberg verteilt oder sie mussten sich in ihrer Heimatgemeinde eine Unterkunft suchen.

Aus dem Brief der schon erwähnten Hedwig Frankfurter, die weitläufig mit Julius Löwenstein verwandt war, wissen wir, dass das Ehepaar Löwenstein in Sontheim bleiben und in das Haus des Dr. Picard übersiedeln konnte. Hedwig schreibt an Amalie Eisig am 29. Juni 1941 in der Schweiz: „Deine Base Ida und ihr Mann sind in einem Arzthaus am gleichen Ort untergebracht mit ca. 14 Pensionisten. Julius ist recht krank, jüngst sogar sehr ernstlich, jetzt gehe es wieder besser."

In einem weiteren Brief vom 3. September 1941 zählt Hedwig Frankfurter auf, wer von den Göppinger Juden verarmt ist, dabei nennt sie auch das Ehepaar Löwenstein. Wer die Kranken nach dem Weggang von Dr. Picard betreute, ist nicht bekannt. Der letzte zuständige Arzt, der von Januar 1942 die Bewohner betreute nahm sich am 23. April 1942 das Leben, vermutlich auf Grund der zu erwartenden Deportation. Julius Löwenstein starb am 2. November 1941. Er wurde auf dem Israelitischen Friedhof in Sontheim begraben, ein Grabstein ist nicht (oder nicht mehr) vorhanden. Möglicherweise, weil sich auf Grund der damaligen Situation niemand darum kümmern konnte und weil auch die Mittel dafür nicht vorhanden waren.

Ida lebte weiterhin im Hause Picard. Am 20 August 1942 wurde sie zusammen mit den letzten noch verbliebenen Bewohnern über Stuttgart ins Ghetto KZ Theresienstadt deportiert. Nachbarn beobachteten, wie dieser Transport von statten ging, sie berichteten, „dass es dabei zu Tränen und Abschiedsszenen aller Art kam. Man verlud diese letzten Insassen des Heims auf einen gewöhnlichen Leiterwagen und ein Fräulein Israel, das gehbehindert bzw. gelähmt war, wurde auf einer Bahre auf den Wagen gehoben. " Ein Mann wurde geschlagen, weil man in seinem Gepäck eine Nagelschere gefunden hatte. Die Deportation wurde als Umsiedlung in den Osten deklariert.

Eine besondere Perfidie des NS-Regimes den alten Menschen gegenüber waren die „Heimkaufs – Verträge“. Mit diesen Verträgen wurde ihnen suggeriert, sie bezahlten für eine lebenslange Unterbringung, Verpflegung und Krankenversorgung in einer angemessenen Einrichtung für alte Menschen. Die Kosten wurden kalkuliert im Hinblick auf einen Lebenserwartung von 85 Jahren und sollten bar oder in Wertpapieren bezahlt werden. Wer sich weigerte einen Heimkaufsvertrag abzuschließen wurde mit Zwangsarbeit und Verschleppung bedroht. Zum 1. Juli 1941 mussten auf Anordnung des NS-Staats hin alle bestehenden Verträge in Heimkaufsverträge umgewandelt werden, in denen die wohlhabenden Heimbewohner verpflichtet wurden, auch den Unterhalt für die bedürftigen zu finanzieren. Bei Neuaufnahmen lag der Mindestbetrag bei 11 000 RM. Ob diese Betrugsverträge durchschaut wurden, oder ob sich daran noch letzte Hoffnungen knüpften, wir wissen es nicht.

Diese letzte Reise Ida Löwensteins mit den letzten Sontheimer Altersheimbewohnern endete nach einem einmonatigen Zwischenaufenthalt im Ghetto KZ Theresienstadt am 29. September 1942 im Vernichtungslager Treblinka. Das Todesdatum ist nicht bekannt.

Viele Angehörige der Familien Gunz und Löwenstein wurden in deutschen Ghettos und Vernichtungslagern ermordet:

Ida Löwensteins Bruder Nathan Gunz und dessen Frau Else, die in München lebten, wurden am 20.11.1941 nach Kaunas deportiert und  starben dort am 25.11.1941.


Else Gunz / Nathan Gunz

In Augsburg lebte Idas Cousine Hedwig Epstein, geb. Gunz, sie wurde am 05.08.1943 nach Theresienstadt deportiert und starb an den mörderischen Bedingungen dort am 28.03.1944.
Ihre Cousine Irene Gumprich, geb. Gunz, die in Schmalkalden lebte, wurde am 19.04.1943 nach Theresienstadt, deportiert und am 29.02.1944 ermordet.

Idas Cousine Rosa Schnell, geb. Gunz, die in Augsburg lebte, wurde am 23.07.1942 zusammen mit ihrem Mann Hermann Schnell nach Theresienstadt deportiert. Rosa starb am dort 23.10.1942, Hermanns Leben endete am 17.12.1942 ebenfalls in Theresienstadt.


Rosa Schnell / Hermann Schnell

Julius' Schwester Hedwig Hirsch, geb. Löwenstein, und ihr Mann Heinrich wurden von ihrem Wohnort München aus am 25.06.1942 nach Theresienstadt deportiert. Hedwig Hirsch starb dort am 22.08.1942, Heinrich starb am 19.01.1943.


Hedwig Hirsch / Heinrich Hirsch

Julius' Bruder Wilhelm Löwenstein, der in Stuttgart lebte, wurde im August 1942 nach Theresienstadt deportiert und dort am 26.03.1943 ermordet.

Julius' Göppinger Schwager Emil Hilb wurde am 22.08.1942 nach Theresienstadt deportiert, von dort am 29.09.1942 nach Treblinka verbracht (siehe Stolperstein-Biografie).

Das Haus, das in der Poststraße 18 stand
Die Poststraße 18 in heutiger Bebauung

Gunter Demnig setzte am 16. Mai 2014 Stolpersteine zur Erinnerung an Ida und Julius Löwenstein an dem Ort, wo ihr früheres Haus gestanden hatte. Als Vertreter der Familie Gunz waren Ida Löwensteins Großneffe Herr Andrew Gunz mit seiner Frau Barbara aus England angereist und wirkten an der Zeremonie mit.

Andrew und Barbara Gunz

(06.02.2017 fw)

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.