Skip to content

Frey, Johanna

Schützenstr.19 (the house was torn down)

We know only little about Johanna Frey’s life. We guess it has not been easy. In 1885, Johanna was 13 years old, her father died. He was shoemaker and later the “tradesman” Aron Löw Frey (alternative spelling: Aron Löb Frei). The town archives in Schwäbisch Hall are telling us: “Aron Frey was over indebted and did not leave anything”.

When Johanna Frey was born on July 12, 1872 in Schwäbisch Hall she was the sixth of eight children of the married couple Ester (also: Ernestine) née Rosenfeld and Aron Frey. After the death of her husband Johanna’s mother Ester must have looked into an abyss. Dr. Thomas Kreutzer of Kreisarchiv Hohenlohekreis has done research at our request: “Ester Frey moved after the death of her husband with her children from Hall to Hohebach; I assume that they moved to Ester’s mother. On September 3, 1885 Nathan Hähnlein as teacher in Hall, had been appointed foster father of her under-age children. He continued in this position for some time. Ester, grandmother of Johanna, died May 2, 1888 at Hohebach where she is buried. At this point two of Johanna’s brethren were grown up and five were under age, among them Johanna. Two of them (one them a minor) had immigrated into the US. From March 19, 1889 the five under age children were registered as foster children at Hohebach. Foster father and general agent was still Teacher Hähnlein assigned by a local representative. After the death of Brünette Rosenfeld (Johanna’s grandmother, mother’s side) on May 2, 1890 besides the still living brothers and sisters of Ester also Ester’s children inherited part of the heritage. In her last will attested on June 14, 1888 the current residential addresses of the grandchildren. (...) Hence it is stated that Johanna resided again in Hall (...) probably cared for by relatives, possibly Nathan Hähnlein. In 1893, the year of her coming of age, the foster ship ended and Johanna’s property was taken over privately by Nathan Hähnlein.

Johanna Frey

After the end of this possibly traumatic period of time, characterized by the death of close by relatives, Johanna Frey returned to her town of birth Schwäbisch Hall – and from that time on her traces of life got lost for decades.

"Kennkarte" (identity card) Johanna Frey

How has Johanna made a living? She would have been barred from a qualified education, on one of the very few documents in writing, the application for an identity card in December 1938 she was listed as “Rentnerin”, old age pensioner or senior citizen. She had possibly seen her sister Recha (Rosa) Frey as a role model as her older sister worked in Stuttgart as a “Hausdame” (housekeeper) or “Pflegerin” (nurse).

In the address book of 1930 Johanna can be traced to Göppingen, she lived in Schützenstraße 19, in a house that belonged to the trader August Ehrhardt.

Did family connections bring her to Göppingen? Johanna’s half-sister Bertha, married Wassermann, lived in Göppingen. Her oldest daughter, Johanna’s half-niece, Therese Wassermann (See Stolperstein-Biography) was twelve years younger than Johanna. Beside Therese there were three more grown-up children of Bertha Wassermann in Göppingen. From 1939 Jewish tenants were chased out of the leases with Non-Jews. Probably Johanna Frey had to leave the apartment of her landlord in Schützenstraße 19 around 1939, although her name does not appear in anyone of the “Judenhäuser” (Jews’ dwellings).

With the probably forced removal from the Göppingen apartment a series of nerve-wracking removal began. The Berlin Bundesarchiv (Federal Archives) hosts a document stating that Johanna was a resident at the Landesasyl (state asylum) ‘Wilhelmsruhe’ in Sontheim near Heilbronn at the national census on May 17, 1939. This house was at that time not an address where old Jewish people feel good (See Stolperstein-biography Ida Löwenstein). We guess that Johanna Frey could or had to spend about one year, before the old age pensioners home was evicted in mid-November 1940. Many of the evicted people returned to their former communities, as Johanna. Her next place of residence was Jebenhausen / Goeppingen in the house of the widow Betty Lauchheimer. Finally she found a home again.

Betty’s granddaughter, Inge Auerbacher, who lived from November 1938 with her grandparents Betty and Max Lauchheimer, remembers “Miss Frey” who had lived in the house of her grandparents “like a family member”, preserved in a photo that was taken in the summer of 1941.

Johanna Frey (middle) with the Lauchheimer family. Left front with doll - Inge Auerbacher

How could Johanna Frey, who, unmarried and unqualified, received only a small pension, make a living? In a letter of September 3, 1941 Hedwig Frankfurter from Goeppingen writes to her friend Tilde Gutmann, who had fled to Switzerland. Hedwig listed all those who were in drastic need for help; a “Miss Frey” was among the ones mentioned.

On December 1st, 1941 Johanna’s landlady Betty Lauchheimer was deported to Riga, and murdered (see Stolperstein-biography). The Auerbachers, the family of Betty’s daughter, were evicted from the house in Jebenhausen and with them definitely Johanna Frey too.

If Johanna was sent to a Göppingen Judenhaus (Jewish dwelling) cannot be secured. Nevertheless she had to leave Göppingen on December 29th, 1941. She was forcefully sent to Schloss Eschenau near Heilbronn, a Forced Senior Citizens Home. It was a property of the alchemist and poet Alexander von Bernus. He and the community of Eschenau profited by the way massively from the lending of the building that had only been renovated provisionally for the new purpose. The historian Dr. Martin Ulmer of Tübingen writes about the developing Forced Old Age Pensioners’ Homes: “In the course of ghettoization before deportation in autumn 1941 all over Germany old people were transferred into Forced Old Age Pensioners’ Homes and kept there. In 1941 there were 140 Homes of that kind in Germany. The people should be concentrated and completely controlled so that later the deportation could run smoothly. Besides Eschenau, there were six more Homes, in Tigerfeld and Buttenhausen near Münsingen, in Delmensingen, Herrlingen and for a short time in Oberstotzingen in Kreis Ulm as well as in Weißenstein in Kreis Göppingen.” The same author states about the living conditions in Schloss Eschenau: “The cramped living conditions with any privacy in a ramshackle and overcrowded dwelling partly without electric light and with insufficient hygiene caused serious problems for the old people. Besides, they had been ripped out of their surroundings they were used to for good. Despite the forced community many suffered from loneliness, (...)”. Johanna Frey spent eight months in Eschenau, probably starving and freezing in the first cold months. Martin Ulmer writes: ”The large majority was in a bad physical condition as eye witnesses remember. The women often knitted, because they were bored and they mended clothes. Jews could no longer buy textiles after the withdrawal of the “Reichskleiderkarten” (Imperial Ration Card for Textiles).”

On August 19, 1942 Johanna Frey and further 79 inmates of the home were taken to Killesberg Camp Stuttgart. Among her fellow-sufferers were Helene Simon of Göppingen and her brother Max Hirsch (See Stolperstein biographies). Three days later, on August 22nd the transport started from Stuttgart Nordbahnhof taking 1078 Jews male and female to the KZ Ghetto Theresienstadt. The living conditions in Theresienstadt possibly finally ruined Johanna’s health as she was kept on the loft hot because of the summer heat of the Dresden barracks, some storeys away from the toilets.

How heavily Johanna Frey had suffered from the conditions in Göppingen and Eschenau can be seen at the fact that she died on September 1st in the KZ Ghetto Theresienstadt. Murder in instalments which the (Jewish) doctors, prisoners themselves, were not allowed published on the death certificate. The death certificate states that Johanna died of “infirmity”.

Death certificate Johanna Frey

In Theresienstadt Johanna took part of the misery of her sisters, Recha Frey and Jeanette Bacher. Johanna’s younger sister Jeanette had married Leo Bacher of Augsburg, lithographer, and had lived with him in Munich. The couple had been transported to Theresienstadt in July 1942, deported on September 19, 1942 to Treblinka and murdered there.

Recha Frey reached the ghetto on August 22, 1942, was deported on September 29, 1942 from Theresienstadt to the extermination camp Treblinka too and murdered through gas.

Jeannette Frey, married Bacher

The three sisters Recha, Johanna and Jeanette were the only children of the married couple Esther and Aron Frey still living in Germany. With their assassination the German branch of this family was extinguished.

Leo Bacher

On May 16 2014 Gunter Demnig set a ‘Stolperstein’ (stumbling stone) to the memory of Johanna Frey on the spot where she spent her first years in Göppingen.

The quotations of Dr Ulmer as well as the identity card photo derive from: “The Jewish Forced Old Age Pensioners’ Home Eschenauc and its inhabitants.” Ed. Martin Ulmer and Martin Ritter. Dr Thomas Kreutzer of the Hohenlohekreis Archives kindly investigated into the period of Johanna Frey’s life after the death of her father. Inge Auerbacher supplied the photo from Johanna’s time in Jebenhausen.

Our cordial thanks go to all those who helped us.

Schützenstr. 19-1
The house was torn down

(April-22-2018 kmr/pr)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Springe zum Inhalt

Frey, Johanna

Schützenstr.19 (das Haus wurde abgerissen)

Wir wissen nur wenig über Johanna Freys Leben, das vermutlich nicht leicht gewesen ist. Im Jahr 1885, Johanna war 13 Jahre alt, starb ihr Vater, der Schumacher und spätere ‚Handelsmann’ Aron Löw Frey (alternative Schreibweise: Aron Löb Frei).Vom Schwäbisch Haller Stadtarchiv erfuhren wir: „Aron Frey war überschuldet und hinterließ nichts.“

Als Johanna Frey am 12. Juli 1872 in Schwäbisch Hall zur Welt kam, war sie das sechste von acht Kindern des Ehepaars Ester (auch: Ernestine), geb. Rosenfeld und Aron Frey. Nach dem Tod ihres Gatten wird Johannas Mutter Ester vor dem Nichts gestanden sein. Dr. Thomas Kreutzer vom Kreisarchiv Hohelohekreis hat auf unsere Bitte hin recherchiert: „Ester Frei zog nach dem Tod ihres Gatten mit den Kindern von Hall nach Hohebach; ich gehe davon aus, dass sie zu Esters Mutter zogen. Am 3. 9.1885 war Nathan Hähnlein, Lehrer in Hall, als Pfleger für die minderjährigen Kinder verpflichtet worden. Diese Eigenschaft behielt er auch im Weiteren stets bei. Ester, Johannas Großmutter, starb am 2.5.1888 in Hohebach, wo sie auch begraben liegt. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt waren zwei Geschwister Johannas bereits erwachsen und fünf noch minderjährig, darunter Johanna. Zwei Geschwister (darunter auch eines der Minderjährigen) waren bereits nach Amerika ausgewandert. Ab dem 19.3.1889 wurden die fünf minderjährigen Kinder in Hohebach als Pfleglinge geführt; Pfleger und Generalbevollmächtigter war weiterhin Lehrer Hähnlein, über einen örtlichen Vertreter. Nach dem Tod von Brünette Rosenfeld am 2.5.1890 (Johannas Großmutter mütterlicherseits – der Verf.) erbten – neben den noch lebenden Geschwistern von Ester – auch Esters Kinder einen Anteil. Im Testament, beglaubigt am 14.6.1888 werden die aktuellen Wohnorte der Enkelkinder erwähnt (…). Hieraus geht hervor, dass Johanna wieder in Hall wohnt, (…) wahrscheinlich in der Obhut von Verwandten, vielleicht auch von Nathan Hähnlein. Im Jahr 1893, also zum Zeitpunkt der Volljährigkeit, endet die Pflegschaft für Johanna und ihr Vermögen wird von Lehrer Hähnlein in Privatverwaltung übernommen.“

Johanna Frey

Nach dem Ende dieser womöglich traumatischen Zeit, geprägt vom Tod der nächsten Angehörigen, kam Johanna in ihre Geburtsstadt Schwäbisch Hall zurück – und damit verlieren sich ihre Lebensspuren auf Jahrzehnte hin.

"Kennkarte" der Johanna Frey

Womit hat Johanna Frey ihren Lebensunterhalt bestritten? Eine qualifizierte schulische Ausbildung dürfte ihr verwehrt geblieben sein, auf einem der wenigen schriftlichen Dokumenten, einem Antrag auf eine Kennkarte im Dezember 1938 wird sie als ‚Rentnerin’ geführt. Vielleicht hat sie sich beruflich an ihrer älteren Schwester Recha (Rosa) Frey orientiert, die in Stuttgart als ‚Hausdame’ und ‚Pflegerin’ arbeitete.

Im Adressbuch von 1930 ist Johanna erstmals in Göppingen nachzuweisen, sie wohnte damals in der Schützenstraße 19, einem Haus, das dem Kaufmann August Erhardt gehörte.

Waren es verwandtschaftliche Beziehungen, die sie nach Göppingen geführt hatten? In Göppingen lebte bis zu ihrem Tod im Jahr 1917 Johannas  Halbschwester Bertha, verheiratete Wassermann. Deren älteste Tochter, Johannas ‚Halbnichte’, Therese Wassermann (siehe Stolperstein – Biografie) war nur 12 Jahre jünger als Johanna. Außer Therese lebten noch drei weitere erwachsene Kinder Bertha Wassermanns in Göppingen. Ab 1939 wurden jüdische Mieter nach und nach aus den Mietverhältnissen bei Nichtjuden vertrieben. Vermutlich hat um das Jahr 1939 auch Johanna Frey die Wohnung ihres Vermieters in der Schützenstraße 19 verlassen müssen, ihr Name taucht aber in keinem der Göppinger ‚Judenhäuser’ auf.

Mit dem wahrscheinlich erzwungenen Auszug aus der Göppinger Wohnung begann eine Serie von zermürbenden Umzügen. Dem Berliner Bundesarchiv liegt ein Dokument vor, demnach Johanna bei der Volkszählung vom 17. Mai 1939 im Landesasyl ‚Wilhelmsruhe’ in Sontheim bei Heilbronn untergebracht war. Dieses Haus war zu dieser Zeit keine Adresse, wo sich alte jüdische Menschen wohl fühlen konnten (siehe Stolperstein-Biografie Ida Löwenstein). Wahrscheinlich konnte bzw. musste Frau Frey etwa ein Jahr in der ‚Wilhelmsruhe’ verbringen, denn das Altersheim wurde Mitte November 1940 zwangsgeräumt. Viele der Ausgewiesenen kamen wieder in ihre früheren Wohnorte zurück, bei Johanna Frey stimmt das ungefähr, denn ihr nächster Wohnort ist Jebenhausen / Göppingen – und endlich fand sie wieder ein Zuhause, nämlich im Haus der Witwe Betty Lauchheimer. Bettys Enkelin, Inge Auerbacher, die seit November 1938 bei ihren Großeltern Betty und Max Lauchheimer wohnte, erinnert sich an das ‚Fräulein Frey’, das „wie ein Familienmitglied“ im Haus ihrer Großmutter gewohnt habe – festgehalten auf dem Foto, das im Sommer 1941 aufgenommen wurde.

Johanna Frey (hinten mitte) im Hausstand der Familie Lauchheimer. Links vorne mit Puppe - Inge Auerbacher

Wie konnte Johanna Frey, die als Ledige vermutlich nur eine sehr kleine Rente erhielt, ihr Leben führen? In einem Brief vom 3. September 1941 an ihre in die Schweiz geflüchtete Freundin Thilde Gutmann zählt die Göppingerin Hedwig Frankfurter diejenigen auf, die dringend materielle Hilfe benötigten. Auch ‚Fräulein Frey’ ist unter den Genannten.

Am ersten Dezember 1941 wurde Johannas Vermieterin Betty Lauchheimer nach Riga deportiert und später dort ermordet (siehe Stolperstein-Biografie) Die Auerbachers, die Familie von Bettys Tochter, wurden danach aus dem Haus in Jebenhausen vertrieben und mit ihnen sicher auch Johanna Frey. Ob sie für kurze Zeit in ein Göppinger ‚Judenhaus’ kam, ließ sich nicht klären, jedenfalls musste Johanna Frey am 29. Dezember 1941 Göppingen verlassen. Sie wurde in das Zwangsaltenheim Schloss Eschenau bei Heilbronn eingewiesen, ein Gebäude im Besitz des Alchemisten und Lyrikers Alexander von Bernus. Er und die Gemeinde Eschenau profitierten übrigens erheblich an der Vermietung des Gebäudes, das nur provisorisch für die neue Nutzung umgebaut worden war. Zu den damals entstehenden Zwangsaltenheimen schreibt der Tübinger Historiker Dr. Martin Ulmer: “Im Zuge der Ghettoisierung vor der Deportation wurden im Herbst 1941 in ganz Deutschland alte Menschen in Zwangsaltenheime umgesiedelt und dort festgehalten. 1941 existierten in Deutschland 140 derartige Altenheime. Die Menschen sollten konzentriert und lückenlos überwacht werden, damit die spätere Deportation reibungslos verlaufen konnte. In Württemberg bestanden neben Eschenau sechs weitere Altenheime: in Tigerfeld und Buttenhausen bei Münsingen, in Dellmensingen, Herrlingen und kurze Zeit in Oberstotzingen im Kreis Ulm sowie in Weißenstein im Kreis Göppingen.“ Über die Lebensbedingungen im Schloss Eschenau führt der gleiche Autor aus: „ Die beengten Lebensverhältnisse ohne Privatsphäre in einer notdürftigen und überbelegten Unterkunft teilweise ohne elektrisches Licht und bei unzureichender Hygiene machte den alten Menschen schwer zu schaffen. Außerdem waren sie endgültig aus ihrer gewohnten Umgebung herausgerissen. Trotz der erzwungenen Gemeinschaft litten viele unter Einsamkeit, ( … )“. Acht Monate verbrachte Johanna Frey in Eschenau, wahrscheinlich hungernd und in den ersten kalten Monaten auch frierend. Martin Ulmer schreibt: „Die große Mehrheit war in schlechter körperlicher Verfassung, wie sich Augenzeugen erinnern. Die Frauen strickten oft aus Langeweile und besserten Kleidungsstücke aus, weil es für Juden wegen des Wegfalls der Reichskleiderkarten keine Textilien mehr zu kaufen gab.“

Am 19. August 1942 wurde Johanna Frey mit weiteren 79 Heiminsassen nach Stuttgart, Lager Killesberg verbracht. Unter ihren Leidensgenossen waren auch die Göppingerin Helene Simon und deren Bruder Max Hirsch (siehe Stolperstein – Biografien). Drei Tage später, am 22. August fuhr der Zug vom Stuttgarter Nordbahnhof ab, der 1078 Jüdinnen und Juden ins KZ Ghetto Theresienstadt brachte. Die Lebensumstände in Theresienstadt dürften Johannas Gesundheit endgültig ruiniert haben, denn sie wurde auf dem sommerheißen Dachboden der Dresdner Kaserne festgehalten, Stockwerke von einer Toilette entfernt.                                                           

Wie schwer Johanna Frey schon unter den Lebensbedingungen in Göppingen und Eschenau gelitten hat, lässt sich daran ersehen, dass sie schon am ersten September des Jahres 1942 im KZ Ghetto Theresienstadt stirbt. Ein Mord auf Raten, was die ( jüdischen )Ärzte, selbst Häftlinge, aber nicht auf die Sterbeurkunde schreiben durften: der zufolge starb Johanna an „Altersschwäche“.                                                                                             

Sterbeurkunde Johanna Frey

In Theresienstadt hatte Johanna auch das Elend ihrer Schwestern Recha Frey und Jeanette Bacher miterleben müssen. Johannas jüngste Schwester Jeanette hatte den Augsburger Lithografen Leo Bacher geheiratet und mit ihm in München gelebt. Das Ehepaar war im Juli 1942 nach Theresienstadt deportiert und am 19. September 1942 nach Treblinka deportiert und ermordet worden. Recha Frey wurde ebenfalls am 22. August 1942 ins Ghetto eingeliefert und am 29. September 1942 von Theresienstadt aus ebenfalls ins Vernichtungslager Treblinka verbracht und dort im Gas ermordet.

Jeannette Frey verh. Bacher

Die drei Schwestern Recha, Johanna und Jeannette waren die einzigen in Deutschland noch lebenden Kinder des Ehepaars Ester und Aron Frey. Mit ihrer Ermordung erlosch in Deutschland dieser Familienzweig.

Leo Bacher

Am 16. Mai 2014 setzte Gunter Demnig einen Stolperstein zum Andenken an Johanna Frey an der Stelle, wo sie ihre ersten Göppinger Jahre verbrachte.

Die Zitate von Dr. Ulmer sowie das Ausweis - Foto von Johanna Frey stammen aus dem Buch: ‚Das jüdische Zwangsaltenheim Eschenau und seine Bewohner. Hrsg. Martin Ulmer und Martin Ritter.’ Herr Dr. Thomas Kreutzer vom Kreisarchiv Hohelohekreis recherchierte freundlicherweise den Lebensabschnitt Johanna Freys nach dem Tod ihres Vaters.

Von Inge Auerbacher / New York stammt das Foto aus Johannas Zeit in Jebenhausen. Allen, die uns geholfen haben, danken wir herzlich.

Schützenstr. 19-1
Das Haus wurde abgerissen

(22.04.2018 kmr)

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.