Skip to content

Dreifuß, Lothar

Gartenstrasse 2

Jewish citizens had lived for two-and-a-half centuries in the small Baden town of Königsbach, located between Karlsruhe and Pforzheim, and represented a considerable proportion of the population. Lothar Dreifuss was born there on April 24, 1916, in the house that still stands at Schulstrasse 9. His father Jakob was a cattle dealer. Lothar was the second child of his parents Jakob and Selma, born four years after his sister Norma.

Norma & Lothar

Lothar is described as a “large, clumsy and simple-minded fellow” in the 'Heimatbuch' [regional record book] of the Königsbach community.

Lothar Dreifuß

Subjected to mockery

On November 10, 1938, the Jews of Königsbach were persecuted during the Pogrom Night as occurred in other cities nationwide. It has been documented that Nazi storm troopers came from out-of-town to Königsbach where they began their work of destruction. But they found plenty of locals who willingly pointed out where the Jewish citizens lived whose houses were then attacked. The synagogue was ordered to be burned down, but the mayor would not allow this because the surrounding houses would easily also catch on fire. Instead all the interior contents of the synagogue were dragged outside and burned in a bonfire at the square in front of it. Jewish men were forced to assist with the destruction of the sacred objects and one of them was beaten for no apparent reason and badly injured. Then the Nazis decided to tear off its roof because the synagogue had hardly been damaged. Some of the spectators objected because lots of good shingles would be smashed. According to the 'Heimatbuch' local Jewish citizens were forced to participate in the destruction, among them the handicapped Lothar Dreifuss. A witness from that time remembered that Lothar “was terribly afraid that he would be forced to go up on the roof.”

on the left:  Synagoge of Königsbach

Entry not welcome

Even though Lothar was not transported to the Dachau concentration camp like his father, he must have been traumatized during the Pogrom Night. The family decided immediately afterwords to flee Germany. They prepared for emigration to Brazil and were lucky enough to receive visas – everyone except Lothar.

the Parents Selma and Jakob at the Crossing to Brasil

In the restitution documents of 1964, his sister Norma is quoted as stating: “He was not allowed to emigrate with his parents because he did not meet the health stipulations for an immigration visa. He was mentally handicapped.” Of course his parents did not want to leave their son behind without anything. A chest was packed for him which was described in correspondence as a “hope chest”. In 1951, Lothar’s father Jakob Dreifuss made the following official statement in Rio de Janeiro: “I hereby certify under oath that I spent the amount of RM 7,500.00 for outfitting my son Lothar Dreifuss for emigration. A chest had been prepared for him, officially sealed and was ready to be shipped.” This shows that the family had planned to bring Lothar to Brazil in the future, but until that could be arranged they arranged a safe home for him: in Göppingen, where his aunt Lotte Sinn, the widowed older sister of his father, lived.

Finding refuge with the aunt in Göppingen, murdered in Riga

In the summer of 1939, Lotte Sinn was 59 years old. For quite some time her own children had not lived any longer in her large house at Gartenstrasse 2, where her deceased husband Theodor had operated a horse dealership. Not much is known about Lothar's time in Göppingen. After a few months he and his aunt were forced to leave the house in the Gartenstrasse and move to Geislinger Strasse 6 with the Dörzbacher family who had to take in many of their fellow believers in Judaism. Lothar often spoke about his upcoming emigration, and his fantasies centered around his hope chest. As Hulda Dörzbacher remembered, he assumed that besides clothing, pillows and shoes it contained valuable jewels – however, that would have been highly unlikely because of the very restrictive export regulations.

Mother Selma and Sister Norma

But Lothar's hopes were dashed; much worse, his family was unable to save him. On December 1st, 1941 Lothar and his aunt Lotte were deported to Riga, where he led a miserable existence under inhuman treatment at Jungfernhof camp. (See Stumbling Stones biography Lotte Sinn). He was probably shot at the end of March 1942 in the Bikernieki woods, like most of the inmates of the camp.

Other members of the Dreifuss family were also murdered by the Nazis: Lothar’s cousin Elsa Kooperberg, along with her husband Abraham and their children Theodor and Bethrina; as well as his uncle Hermann Dreifuss and his wife Victoria. (See Stolperstein-page Lotte Sinn.)

Lothar's mother died in 1948 and his father died in Brazilian exile in 1954. His sister Norma married and had two children. 

The Stumbling Stones Initiative was able to make contact with Lothar's niece, Mrs. Marion Gideon, who lives in the USA. We are very thankful to her for the photos she made available.

On November 25, 2011, Gunter Demnig placed a Stumbling Stone in front of the house at Gartenstrasse 2 in memory of Lothar Dreifuss.

Gartenstr. 2

(20th of December 2016 kmr / ir)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Springe zum Inhalt

Dreifuß, Lothar

Gartenstr. 2

Im kleinen badischen Ort Königsbach, zwischen Karlsruhe und Pforzheim gelegen, lebten Juden seit zweieinhalb Jahrhunderten und stellten einen beträchtlichen Anteil an der Bevölkerung. Hier, im heute noch bestehenden Haus in der Schulstraße 9 kam Lothar Dreifuß am 24. April 1916 zur Welt. Sein Vater Jakob Dreifuß war Viehhändler von Beruf, Lothar war das zweite Kind von Jakob und Selma, seine Mutter hatte schon vier Jahre zuvor die Tochter Norma zur Welt gebracht.

Norma & Lothar

Der herangewachsene Lothar wird im Heimatbuch der Gemeinde Königsbach als „großer, unbeholfener und einfältiger Bursche“ beschrieben.

Lothar Dreifuß

Dem Spott ausgesetzt

Am 10. November 1938 wurde der reichsweite Pogrom auch an den Königsbacher Juden verübt. Wie es sich oft nachweisen lässt, war es zunächst ein von auswärts stammendes Kommando, das mit dem Zerstörungswerk begann. Die angereisten Nazis fanden aber am Ort genügend Helfer, die es ihnen ermöglichten, gezielt die Wohnungen der Juden zu verwüsten. Auch die Königsbacher Synagoge sollte zerstört werden, wogegen sich aber der Bürgermeister verwehrte, denn die Gefahr für die umliegenden Häuser hielt er für zu groß. Als Ersatz wurden alle Gegenstände aus der Synagoge gerissen und auf einem Scheiterhaufen am Platz davor verbrannt. Jüdische Dorfbewohner wurden mit Gewalt gezwungen, bei der Zerstörung auch der heiligen Gegenstände mitzuwirken, ein Jude wurde dabei grundlos zusammengeschlagen und schwer verletzt. Da die Synagoge zunächst wenig beschädigt worden war, beschlossen die Nazis, das Dach des Gotteshauses zu demolieren, was bei einigen Zuschauern aber das Bedauern über die doch noch guten Ziegel auslöste. Auch für diese Zerstörung mussten ortsansässige Juden herhalten, darunter, laut Heimatbuch, auch Lothar Dreifuß, der „schreckliche Angst hatte, als man ihn auf das Dach hinauf schickte“, wie sich ein Zeitzeuge erinnerte.

links: Die Synagoge von Königsbach

Einreise nicht erwünscht

Lothar wurde zwar nicht wie sein Vater ins KZ Dachau transportiert, dürfte nach dem Pogrom aber traumatisiert gewesen sein. Unverzüglich plante die Familie Dreifuß die Flucht aus Deutschland. Man bereitete die Auswanderung nach Brasilien vor und hatte auch das Glück, ein Visum zu erhalten – alle außer Lothar. 

Selma und Jakob Dreifuß auf der Schiffspassage

In den Restitutionsakten wird 1964 seine Schwester Norma zitiert: „ Er konnte deshalb nicht mit seinen Eltern auswandern, weil er die gesundheitlichen Erfordernisse für das Einreisevisum nicht erfüllte. Er war nämlich geistig zurückgeblieben“. Die Eltern wollten ihren Sohn freilich nicht mittellos zurücklassen. Für ihn wurde eine Kiste gepackt, die im Schriftwechsel dann als ‚Aussteuer’ bezeichnet wird. Lothars Vater Jakob Dreifuß gab 1951 in Rio de Janeiro zu Protokoll: „Ich erkläre hiermit an Eides statt, dass ich für die Aussteuer zw. Auswanderung meines Sohns Lothar Dreifuß RM 7500,- ausgegeben habe. Dieselbe stand verpackt und amtlich plombiert bereit.“ Die Familie hatte also vor, Lothars Nachzug von Brasilien aus zu betreiben, zunächst sollte Lothar aber ein sicheres Zuhause finden und zwar in Göppingen, wo seine Tante Lotte Sinn lebte, eine verwitwete ältere Schwester seines Vaters.

Zuflucht bei der Tante in Göppingen, ermordet in Riga

Im Sommer 1939 war Lotte Sinn 59 Jahre alt, ihre eigenen Kinder wohnten schon seit längerem nicht mehr in ihrem großen Haus in der Gartenstraße 2, wo ihr verstorbener Mann Theodor mit Pferden gehandelt hatte. Aus Lothars Göppinger Zeit ist kaum etwas überliefert. Wie seine Tante musste er schon nach wenigen Monaten aus dem Haus Gartenstraße 2 ausziehen und kam bei der Familie Dörzbacher in der Geislingerstraße 6 unter, die gezwungen wurden, viele Glaubensgenossen zu beherbergen. Lothar muss oft von der Auswanderung gesprochen haben und seine Fantasien machten sich an der Aussteuerkiste fest. Er vermutete, wie sich Hulda Dörzbacher erinnerte, in dieser neben Wäsche, Anzügen, Kissen und Schuhen auch Schmuckgegenstände – letztere sind aufgrund der restriktiven Ausfuhrbestimmungen wahrscheinlich nicht enthalten gewesen. Lothars Hoffnungen wurden enttäuscht, viel schlimmer: es gelang der Familie nicht, ihn zu retten.

Mutter Selma und Schwester Norma

Am ersten Dezember 1941 wurde Lothar wie seine Tante Lotte nach Riga deportiert, wo er im Lager Jungfernhof unter unmenschlichen Bedingungen sein Leben fristen musste. (Siehe Stolperstein-Biografie Lotte Sinn). Wahrscheinlich wurde Lothar, wie die meisten Insassen des Lagers, Ende März 1942 im Wald Bikernieki von 'Einsatzgruppen' erschossen. Aus der Familie Dreifuß wurden noch weitere Mitglieder von den Nazis ermordet: Lothars Cousine Elsa Kooperberg, deren Mann Abraham und die Kinder Theodor und Bethrina, ebenso sein Onkel Hermann Dreifuß und dessen Frau Victoria. (Siehe Stolperstein - Seite Lotte Sinn)

Lothars Mutter starb 1948, sein Vater 1954 im brasilianischen Exil, seine Schwester Norma heiratete und bekam zwei Kinder. Mit einer seiner Nichten, Frau Marion Gideon, die in den USA lebt, konnte die Stolperstein – Initiative Kontakt knüpfen. Wir danken ihr herzlich für die überlassenen Fotos.

Am 25. November 2011 legte Gunter Demnig einen Stolperstein vor dem Haus Gartenstraße 2, mit dem an Lothar Dreifuß erinnert wird.

Gartenstr. 2

(20.12.2016 kmr)

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.